Absent Minded Muser

You can read my Tweets below~ =D

The world and its worries.

on April 6, 2011

For once today, I’m not going to put a title until the end of my post. That’s what I’ve been told is best to do with books, so why not in a blog?

I often feel stressed when I let my mind wander to things that continuously pop up in my life; work, cleaning, my art improvement, getting things done, paying my electric, worrying about money, etc. etc. etc.

These are things I never in my life, thought I would worry about. Because when you are young, you don’t think of these things. You don’t think that someday you won’t be with your parents (no matter how much you want to get away), you don’t think about bills, jobs, how to get clothes, improving etc. You only worry about how much fun you can fit into one day.

I’ve been having the realizations very slowly, that when I focus on all that scary worrisome stuff, I feel as if I am sinking. Falling into a black pit where there is no escape from all of it, from the world, my family. There is no spoon alone time, everything is crowding in on me and I’m suffocating.

That’s when it hits me.

The only reason I feel that way is because I’m focusing on worldly things. Certainly, we shouldn’t leave things to be destroyed because of our carelessness, but if we don’t focus our all on God, we will continue to fall, sink, slip, grab and fail. We are human, flawed. God is our only help and if we don’t focus on Him, we will fall off that very slim line we walk and into the hands of the world.

Personally, I don’t want to be held by the world. I want to be held by God. So when I feel all the worries come rushing into me like a hurricane. I breathe. Pray. And sink to the ground, letting God take my heart and ask Him to please, help me from worrying. God works all things out through time and we simply have to have patience.

When the world is crashing down on you, look to God and never take your eyes off of Him. God and God alone is the only one who can save you.

2 responses to “The world and its worries.

  1. Crystal says:

    Reminds me of what I was reading and journaling about yesterday…

    “Now in the fourth watch of the night Jesus went to them, walking on the sea. And when the disciples saw Him walking on the sea, they were troubled, saying, “It is a ghost!” And they cried out for fear.
    But immediately Jesus spoke to them, saying, “Be of good cheer! It is I; do not be afraid.”
    And Peter answered Him and said, “Lord, if it is You, command me to come to You on the water.”
    So He said, “Come.” And when Peter had come down out of the boat, he walked on the water to go to Jesus. But when he saw that the wind was boisterous, he was afraid; and beginning to sink he cried out, saying, “Lord, save me!”
    And immediately Jesus stretched out His hand and caught him, and said to him, “O you of little faith, why did you doubt?” And when they got into the boat, the wind ceased.” – Matthew 14:26-32

    Peter took His eyes of Christ and he began to sink, he realized his mortality and his lack. It is true that all these things can pile up on us and make us worry, because we forget the One who is making us able to walk on the waves. Through Christ we can do all things~

    • Indeed. That’s something I read in that In-courage journal you posted on your facebook. I feel faulty when I take my eyes of Christ. And I was talking to Steph about that, no one can throw mean names at Peter. Anyone else would have done the same thing. That is why, I am constantly reminded to focus on Jesus. I feel that nudge when I get worried.

Leave a Reply

