Absent Minded Muser

You can read my Tweets below~ =D

Taken for Granted

on December 8, 2011

Hello everyone, or anyone who actually reads this. I know its been a while since I lasted blogged. I’ve been having a hard time keeping up with anything lately. I’ve been busy with Holidays, birthdays, Christmas and New Years. Though, we are all busy around this time of year.

That’s what brings me here, I had been thinking about some things that bother me. I find that I take a lot of things for granted and I realize this only after I see someone else taking their things for granted. It makes me feel sick inside to realize that, everything I have, is not something I achieved. God blessed me with those things. Without Him, I wouldn’t have a house, a bed, a stove, clothes, food or anything! I am just a speck on this earth without Him.

But it isn’t just material things that can be taken for granted, it’s friends too. Recently, I txted a friend and we talked a lot more than we have in years. It was nice and freeing. I discovered something new about her and strangely, it didn’t make me sick or freak out.  I felt a bit sad, I won’t deny, but I didn’t reject her. I love her too much for that, she’s still the wonderful girl I know.

It’s easy to think; “I have plenty of friends!”

But, do you really? When was the last time you talked to them? How long did you talk? What transpired?

These things are important, because, going through life without friends is a rough business. It’s something I tried to explain to the 6 year-old I babysit. She didn’t really get it, but I told her being mean and nasty the way she is, won’t get her any friends.

That’s why I generally check up on all my friends as often as I can, sometimes I forget and then I realize, I need to. Because they deserve to be looked in on, who knows whats happening in their lives and they may need my help. That’s just how I am.

This holiday season, I encourage you all to seek out the friends you feel you may have lost contact with, or the ones you don’t really talk to anymore. See how they are doing, catch up on old times. It may be awkward at first, but you’ll get through it.  God doesn’t stop looking in on us, why should we stop looking in on friends?

One response to “Taken for Granted

  1. Daniela Carlton says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more. With all the list, to do’s, and chaos in our lives, we tend to forget the little things or the people who care about us. Friendship is truly something worth making an effort for. Thank you for the reminder. No matter how busy our life may be, it’s important to keep an open heart.

Leave a Reply

