Absent Minded Muser

You can read my Tweets below~ =D

Freelancing

on January 23, 2012

Freelancing can be a difficult thing. It means setting your own deadlines, and working to the beat of your own drum. In some cases, this is a very bad idea, especially if you are like me and you are completely lazy.

Now, I figure if I had a deadline I would try to meet it. If I’m not under pressure to actually do something, I won’t. Sad? Yes.

But, I enjoy my blogs! I really do. Putting down my ideas and sharing the thoughts of people I meet. That hasn’t happened yet, however, there is always a first time for everything.

What I really want to talk about is a friend of mine. He’s been a really great friend to me and he knows a lot about freelancing, as he is a freelancer himself! A very talented one too. I feel for him, his works don’t get as much credit as they should.

He has a fantastic blog; Voyager’s Quill. I didn’t help with that name,  I feel a bit bad that I couldn’t help out, when it comes to names for other people’s ideas, I just go blank. For myself, it’s easy, I know what I want.  He brings up some wonderful thoughts about many things, and really sets me to thinking.

You see, if you know me, you know I want to be a novelist of fiction, (these days I have to define that not “writer” but “novelist of fiction!!” something I tell everyone these days…sometimes with an angry expression.)

The idea of “freelance” has crossed my mind and I’ve wanted to do that. But my grammar skills aren’t quite what a publisher would want, I’ve been told on many occasions and I already know that for myself. My grammar is like a monkey on crack with a crayon… horrible.

Reading this? Yeah, you already knew that. I’m off topic…

Anyway, his idea is a good one. One I think people should embrace. If you are interested in that sort’ve career choice, it’s a nice one. It won’t always be easy, as he points out, but it may pay off in the end.

There can be no adventure without risk!

Leave a Reply

